Ridgeview Foundation awards scholarships to 17 area high school seniors

The Ridgeview Foundation is pleased to announce the 2018 recipients of its annual health care scholarships. The Foundation awarded $2,000 scholarships to the following high school seniors who are interested in pursuing a health-related degree or career:

Caitlin Preusser, Belle Plaine Sr. High School
Kali Grimm, Central High School, Norwood Young America
Grace Merrill, Chanhassen High School
Claire Shea, Chanhassen High School/Ridgeview employee
Emma Simpson, Chaska High School
Abigail Johnson, Delano High School
Molly Garin, Holy Family High School
Jenna Benson, Howard Lake-Waverly-Winsted High School
Leighton Buhr, Lester Prairie High School
Acy Adamzak, Le Sueur Henderson High School
Carson Lennon, Minnetonka High School
Julia Eling, Mound Westonka High School
Olivia Silvernail, Orono High School
Lindsey Flieth, Sibley East High School
Emma Mocol, Southwest Christian High School
Grace Edsill, Waconia High School
Natalya Wells, Watertown-Mayer High School

In addition to the monetary award, the scholarship recipients can access Ridgeview Medical Center as an educational resource, including opportunities for job shadowing, internships and volunteering during their college careers.

Recipients were selected by the Ridgeview Scholarship Committee with representatives from Ridgeview Medical Center, Ridgeview Sibley Medical Center and Ridgeview Le Sueur Medical Center. The committee awarded scholarships to one student from each high school in the Ridgeview service area as well as a scholarship for a child of a Ridgeview employee. Applicants were evaluated based on academic ability, extra-curricular activities, including volunteer work and service and writing ability.

In 2001, Ridgeview Foundation created the scholarship program in response to the shortage of health care workers. Nearly $90,000 was raised at the 2001 Ridgeview Foundation Golf Extravaganza to start the scholarship program. To date, the Foundation has awarded scholarships to 260 area students. More than 20 previous scholarship recipients have returned to work at Ridgeview.

Funding for the Ridgeview Health Care Scholarship Program is generously provided by Ridgeview Foundation’s Friends & Family Committee, Ridgeview Sibley Foundation, Ridgeview Le Sueur Auxiliary Group and an anonymous community donor.

For more information about the scholarship program and its eligibility requirements, or to donate to the scholarship fund, please contact Ridgeview Foundation at 952-442-6010. Application forms for the 2019 scholarships will be available February 2019.

Photo Caption: Pictured with Linda Roepke, Ridgeview Foundation Board member and Scholarship Committee member, are (front row, from left): Grace Edsill, Waconia High School; Julia Elling, Mound Westonka High School; Emma Mocol, Southwest Christian High School; Abigail Johnson, Delano High School; Caitlin Preusser, Belle Plaine Sr. High School; Emma Simpson, Chaska High School; and Linda Reopke; (back row, from left) Leighton Buhr, Lester Prairie High School; Jenna Benson, Howard Lake-Waverly-Winsted High School; Molly Garin, Holy Family High School; Grace Merrill, Chanhassen High School; Claire Shea, Chanhassen High School – Ridgeview employee; Lindsey Flieth, Sibley East High School; and Carson Lennon, Minnetonka High School. Not pictured are Kali Grimm, Central High School Norwood Young America; Acy Adamzak, Le Sueur Henderson High School; Olivia Silvernail, Orono High School; and Natalya Wells, Watertown-Mayer High School.